Skip to main content

RG/Comm Member of the year 2015

Don Baldwin has been an active member of ABRF since 2001 and has served as Chair of the Microarray Research Group (MRG) and the Genomic Research Group (GRG).  He has also served on the Metagenomics Research Group, been the Experimental Design Project Co-coordinator of the ABRF Next Generation Sequencing (NGS) Study, a member of the Steering Committee, and the ABRF representative for the Genome in a Bottle Consortium.  Don also serves on the Editorial Board for the Journal of Biomolecular Techniques (JBT). Don has been a crucial participant in many projects at both the conception and execution levels.  He has contributed significantly in the preparation of samples for benchmarking, sample processing for RG projects, performing data analysis, and presenting results. Within GRG, projects have included developing synthetic miRNA standards that will be a great resource for researchers developing novel methods of analysis using microarrays, PCR, and NGS technologies.  Furthermore, he has been one of the main drivers of the ABRF NGS studies. Recently, he has also been an active member of the newly formed Metagenomics Research Group.  His colleagues describe him as a pleasure to work with and a very enthusiastic and extremely knowledgeable individual. For his outstanding and tireless contributions to the ABRF, Don Baldwin receives the Robert A. Welch Outstanding Research Group/Committee Member of the Year Award.

Back to Top