Skip to main content

ABRF Outstanding Scientist Scholarships

Scholarships are available to ABRF members who have made significant contributions to their institutional shared resource facility or to the ABRF.
The scholarship is to be used to offset the cost of attending the ABRF Annual Meeting.

The deadline for applications is January 15th.

The award amount is $600 for domestic (USA) members, $750 for International North American members, and $1,000 for International non-North American members, and are to be used to offset the costs associated with meeting attendance (for example, travel and lodging). Complimentary registration for ABRF Annual Meeting is included as part of the scholarship.

Students, postdoctoral fellows, laboratory technicians, junior staff, and administrators directly associated with the mission of member laboratories are encouraged to apply.

Applicants should submit the following:

1. An application form (download here; disregard previous deadline on the form)

 2. A letter of support outlining the outstanding attributes of the applicant. If the applicant is a facility director, a letter of support from a senior colleague or head of department must be provided. Letters of support should be emailed to Carol Bayles,

No need to wait to r
egister for the ABRF Annual Meeting. Successful applicants will have their registration covered by the award and will be reimbursed.
Please note that successful applicants must be members of ABRF at the time of the ABRF Annual Meeting, and are required to attend the awards session to accept their prize.

Those who have received a travel award within the last three years are not eligible.

If an applicant has questions concerning filing an application, please contact Carol Bayles, Chair of the ABRF Scholarship Committee.

ABRF Scholarship Selection Committee

Carol Bayles (Chair) 
Allis Chien (EB Liaison)
Sridar Chittur
William Hendrickson
Jennifer Holbrook
Kevin Knudtson

Back to Top